Log in or create an account

Faculty Ad

Ad has expired

Ad deadline has passed

Institution:Mississippi State University
Department:Dave C. Swalm School of Chemical Engineering
Location:Mississippi State, MS , Mississippi
Target rank:Professor, Director, & Endowed Chair
Tenure track:yes
Start date:flexible
Posting date:November 4, 2015
Application deadline:January 15, 2016
More info URL:http://www.jobs.msstate.edu
Contact: Dr. Nicolas Younan
Research areas:Education, Manufacturing/logistics, Separations, Energy, Transport phenomena, Nanotechnology, Dynamics/control, Process engineering, Environment/sustainability, Modeling/simulation, Thermo/stat-mech, Bioengineering, Reaction engineering, Materials

Posting PDF

Applications and nominations are being sought for the Director of the Dave C. Swalm School of Chemical Engineering at Mississippi State University. The Director will hold the Earnest W. Deavenport, Jr. Chair in Chemical Engineering. The Swalm School of Chemical Engineering is an ABET accredited program offering BS, MS, and PhD degrees with a record of scholarly achievement. Additionally, a new BS degree program in Petroleum Engineering was established in the Swalm School of Chemical Engineering, effective Fall 2015. The faculty conduct research in the areas of Crystallization, Soft Matter, Polymers, Nanomaterials, Renewable Energy, Molecular Modeling, and maintain active collaborations with the research centers within the Bagley College of Engineering as well as the College of Arts and Sciences and the College of Agriculture. (http://www.engr.msstate.edu). The Director of the Swalm School of Chemical Engineering is under the administrative supervision of the Dean of the Bagley College of Engineering and is responsible for the overall administration of the school.

The Swalm School of Chemical Engineering (http://www.che.msstate.edu) is comprised of 11 faculty members and over 500 undergraduate and graduate students. Endowments support the school in a number of key areas including chairs, professorships, undergraduate scholarships, and other initiatives.

Qualified candidates must hold a BS in Chemical or Petroleum Engineering, and PhD degree in Chemical or Petroleum Engineering or closely related engineering fields. The candidate must possess excellent leadership and interpersonal skills. They will be nationally recognized scholars with distinguished academic records commensurate with the rank of tenured Professor and holder of an endowed chair. Screening of applications will begin January 1, 2016, and will continue until the position is filled. The anticipated starting date is July 1, 2016. Applicants must apply online by completing the Personal Data Information form at http://www.jobs.msstate.edu (PARF #9290) and attaching a cover letter outlining the candidate's qualifications, professional interests, and leadership vision, a current curriculum vitae, and contact information for at least three professional references. Inquiries and nominations should be directed to Dr. Nicolas H. Younan, Search Committee Chair (younan@ece.msstate.edu, phone: 662‐325‐3912).

Mississippi State University (http://www.msstate.edu), a Carnegie Foundation Very High Research University, is a comprehensive public institution with more than 20,000 graduate and undergraduate students and approximately 1300 full-time faculty members, located in Starkville, Mississippi (visit.starkville.org). The Bagley College of Engineering has an approximate enrollment of 3450 undergraduate and 625 graduate students. It ranks 73rd nationally in research expenditures with 3 programs in the top 50.

MSU is an equal opportunity employer, and all qualified applicants will receive consideration for employment without regard to race, color, religion, ethnicity, sex (including pregnancy and gender identity), national origin, disability status, age, sexual orientation, genetic information, protected veteran status, or any other characteristic protected by law. We always welcome nominations and applications from women, members of any minority group, and others who share our passion for building a diverse community that reflects the diversity in our student population.